Computers

So I realized that we have a few people in here who have a fairly high interest in the wonderful world of computing! So I thought we can have a little topic about it :slight_smile:

So setting up the ground rules for this topic: basically talk about anything computing and computers related here. Some examples may include, but are not limited to:

• Computer Programming
  • News and tidbits in the computing world
  • Operating systems and other general applications
  • PC hardware master race enthusiasm
  • Computer Science in general

I hope this isnā€™t too broad a discussion topic but Iā€™d like to keep it in one place since this is an Off-Topic post, after all!

I guess to start, an introduction of my computing background. I took up Computer Science for my undergrad, and am currently pursuing a Masterā€™s degree in Computer Science. I also worked as a web application developer for a few years :wink: My current field of specialization is Networking & Internet and I like to think my interests spread through a pretty broad field. I can talk about Routing Protocols, Internet Architecture, Web Applications, or even Network Security.

I used to be really into theoretical computer science (algorithms and whatnot) but after a few more advanced classes (care of coursera.org, take a few if you have the time!), I realized that Iā€™m not very good at it x.x So I focused on something more aligned to my interests. I dislike probability and non-determinism, so that kind of cut Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and a lot of other fancy stuff that you hear about when you think of hardcore Computer Science. And Iā€™ve always loved the Internet and have spent waaaay too much time on it ever since I was a child (even more time on the Internet than on video games, I swear).