Umineko No Naku Koro Ni - Discussion

Since I was pretty much given the greenlight from Aspirety himself (and the Infinity topic has died down), here it is, the thread for Umineko No Naku Koro Ni!
So, did many of you read it? What are your thoughts on it?

For spoiler limitations: please tag any references to Episodes 5-8 (Chiru) or outside works with [spoiler] tags, providing adequate context in parenthesis.

Personally, I think it’s best story I’ve ever read on any media, and being an audiovisual student, I always get myself fantasizing about how I would adapt it to anime form (yes, I know. But the actual anime that was produced is not really good if compared to the novels).
I thought it was unbelievebly creative and pretty much all of the themes were handled in a such a wise and sicere way that it reasonated with me deeply. Quite frankly, I’m pretty sure Umineko changed the way I see the world, it changed many of my opinions regarding a lot of things. The very fact that a made-up story is so powerful is what gives me any drive to keep pursuing some sort of career producing fictional media.

Anyways, I’m extending myself too much for the first post. What do you guys think?

1 Like

I have kind of a love-hate relationship with Umineko. Sure, it was a fun read and all, but I felt that I read it the wrong way, or that I rushed too quickly into the story. Umineko is one of those novels that you can’t just sit and read; you have to stop and think about it. And, well, the way I read it, I never gave myself the opportunity to think about it. Umineko is the novel that doesn’t hand you any of the answers on a silver platter, but leaves enough hints for you to confirm things once you understand it. And it frustrates me to no end that I was only able to figure out most of the revelations by reading a goddamned wiki.