Let's Diagnose Key Characters

Anyone here into Psychology? I’m an undergrad Psychology student myself, and today I got the idea of a little exercise I could do; diagnosing Key characters. I’ve started with the Little Busters.

Kurugaya - Anhedonia?
Komari - Extreme Necrophobia resulting in Dissociative Amnesia
Mio - Dissociative Identity Disorder
Haruka - Paranoid Personality Disorder
Kud - Pathological guilt?
Masato - Schizophrenia

Riki - Separation Anxiety and Narcolepsy
Rin - Autism Spectrum Disorder

What do you think? Feel free to attempt diagnosing other Key characters, aha.

Please make sure to reference any late-game/series information in [spoiler] tags.

Could you elaborate on that a bit? I only know that Shizophrenia is commonly confused with Dissociative Personality Disorder, but I’m not clear on the actual definition…

Shiori - KeyAIDS
Nagisa - KeyAIDS
Komari’s brother - KeyAIDS
Otonashi’s little sister - KeyAIDS

8 Likes

Mental diagnoses, please :slight_smile:

Schizophrenia is a very broad diagnosis that can refer to a bunch of different things, but in a nutshell it basically means a breakdown in thinking and feeling. I feel like a lot of the symptoms match up with what Masato experiencesIn Refrain. Let’s look at some.

-Hallucinations. Hundreds of Masatos. Check.
-Delusions (I am the strongest!) Check.
-Disorganized thinking. Debatable, but I think he seemed pretty out of it.
-Paranoia. Masato’s afraid everyone is out to get him.
-Don’t think they’re crazy. (It’s this damn world that’s gone crazy!) Check.
-Clumsy motor skills.
-Directionless, walking to nowhere in particular.
-Speaking in an abstract or tangential way. Nonsensical logic. The conversation they have with Masato right before he starts completely losing it. “Why? Because I’m the strongest. I’m going to start proving that I’m the strongest now.”
-Difficulty understanding simple things. He falls for the trap so easily, and doesn’t realize he can just take his jacket off.